April 2024. Adding clarification about the use of page numbers in the reading instructions. Page numbers are not used where a full chapter is referred to. Use only chapter number or number and name (if available).
Use the following instructions:
Before you create a Harvard Reference Asset in LibGuides
See full instructions below.
The examples below are for references where the academic has provided instructions to students on chapters or pages to read which are not a normal part of the reference. Therefore they are added in brackets or listed below the reference.
Use page numbers only if the readings does not cover the full chapter or if there is no chapter name or chapter number. This is example of a book with no author.
In order to reuse the chapter link assets, it is recommended to add the book reference to description and select Hide description in the link asset. Chapters may be linked to scans in Learning Bank, subject to copyright.
The examples below are for references where the academic has provided instructions to students on chapters or pages to read which are not a normal part of the reference.
** If eBook and hardcopy book are available on the library catalogue – use only the direct eBook permalink and provide an eBook Harvard reference in the Readings section of the LibGuide.
Examples include permalink (Deep link) to chapter.
Please note: in TAFE NSW Harvard referencing a DOI trumps a URL or database name. However, the link used to the link the title can be a deep link or URL to the chapter.
Use page numbers only if the readings does not cover the full chapter or if there is no chapter name or chapter number.
This option can be applied if the book is used throughout the course and you want to reuse the eBook reference assets.
The eBook reference includes permalink (Deep link) to the eBook. The chapter is linked to the chapter. If you wish to reuse the chapter link assets, it is recommended to add the book reference to description and select Hide description in the link asset.
The eBook reference includes a permalink (Deep link) to the eBook. The reading instructions are deep-linked to the chapters, sections and page ranges.
If you wish to reuse the individual reading instruction link assets, it is recommended to add the book reference to description and select Hide description in the link asset.
Note: Full chapters use number and name (if available), but no page numbers. Named sections include a page range.
The following example is from an edited book listing multiple chapters below. Alternatively, and preferably you can create a chapter reference for each chapter - See Harvard assets - eBook/book chapters (Edited book).
The reading instructions include the separate author, chapter details and the page range, as all three elements are required to create a reference for a chapter in an edited book.
Harvard Assets - book chapters, essays or articles in an edited book or anthology
Link name: Mahbobi, M & Tiemann, TK 2015, <em>Introductory business statistics with interactive spreadsheets</em>,
Link address: Use the direct link URL to chapter - https://opentextbc.ca/introductorybusinessstatistics/chapter/the-normal-and-t-distributions-2/
Link description: eBook, viewed 7 September 2021, <https://opentextbc.ca/introductorybusinessstatistics/>. (Chapter 2 The normal and t-distributions)
Final Libguide asset:
Link name: <i>Prepare an effective oral presentation</i> 2019,
Link address: Use the direct link URL to chapter - https://davenport.libguides.com/papers
Link description: Davenport University Libraries, viewed 9 November 2020, <https://davenport.libguides.com/papers>.
Final Libguide asset:
Treat as a wiki article.
Readings that are available online or in subscription databases should be linked to, not copied and uploaded to the Learning Bank.
All links to the Learning Bank are at resource level, not to the record. Students cannot access content from a record.
Care should be taken that where content does not have permission and is above the 10% copyright rule, it is not used in the readings available to the cohort. If so, link only to content up to 10%. Other content is listed, but not linked.
July 2024 Please contact the S&SG FIT Lead to upload scans to the Learning Bank.
Website example with no author
Where a YouTube video title contains pipes, replace with a colon.
Audio podcast episode (Stand alone podcast website example)
Audio podcast episode (Separately titled podcast series and platform example)
Audio podcast - named episode but no individually named podcast
Single audio file or, a series of podcasts with no distinct group podcast name, listed on a larger website
You can only create a reference for an article not for a whole journal or a newspaper. Provide the linked periodical title e.g.
Only provide the linked name for whole websites and whole blogs.
Like whole websites, these should be listed, not referenced. They can have hover over descriptions for any required information.
Dictionary entries of definitions are not referenced but details are needed to create an intext reference. Add details to the Hover over description (See below).
Please note that articles from dictionaries are referenced e.g.
You can use
<i> starting tag and </i> ending tag
<i> </i>
or
<em> starting tag and </em> ending tag
<em> </em>
< use for < at the beginning of a web address
> use for > at the end of a web address
< >
They also work without the semicolon.
Use database names as displayed at the A-Z eResources. Exception is not to include the abbreviation or acronym in brackets.
Selected databases:
Advice for readings where the academic has provided instructions to students on chapters or pages to read which are not a normal part of the reference.
Do I add a space between the title and colon before the subtitle as done on TAFEcat?
For Harvard references, insert the colon directly after the title without space e.g. Management: a comprehensive approach
What is the format for date viewed/accessed in Harvard style?
The eBook/book has multiple places of publication. Which one do I add to the Harvard reference?
Use the first place of publication only for a book. eBooks do not have a place of publication.
The same article appears in print, via a database and on a webpage. How should I reference it?
Use the reference type for the location where you sourced the item and for where you are providing the link. For instance if an article appears in both print, on a database and on the Harvard Review webpage, and you are including the link to the webpage, it should be referenced as a webpage.
