Standards and Guidelines: eBooks, eAudio and Books

Examples

Be as inclusive as possible!

• If a course is taught in most regions across the state, lists of hardcopy items should include titles available in at least 3 regions e.g. Basic infection control for health care professionals (2021) - Book
• If the course is run in 5 or fewer locations only, you may use resources that are only available in these locations e.g. Boating handbook (2015) - Book

Selecting books e.g. for the welcome page

• Include eBooks of any licence type if available to achieve wider access e.g. Sketchup for dummies (2020) - eBook and book

Selecting eBooks e.g. for the eResources page

• If an eBook is only available for limited user access, for example, as a 3 or 9 user license only, include available hardcopies e.g. Small animal surgical nursing : skills and concepts (2022) - eBook and book
• If an eBook has unlimited licences, do not combine it with hardcopies. Use the direct deeplink to the eBook in the collection provided e.g. Cyber minds (2020) - eBook

Combining books and eBooks provides additional access points. 

• Welcome page: combine the book with the eBook whenever possible.
• eResources page: do not combine the eBook with the book of the same edition if the eBook is available as an unlimited licence. For unlimited licences use the direct deeplink to the eBook in the collection provided (see deeplinking instructions).
• Topic page: regardless of the number of eBook licences, combine the eBook with the book whenever possible.
• Use TAFEcat search to obtain permalink of the search and add - eBook and book after publication year in the title field e.g. Cabinet making (2017) - eBook and book 
• Including previous editions is optional (see instructions).

Only use older editions if

• No unlimited state-wide eBook is available and some libraries have only older editions.
• The older edition is required by the course.
• The book is in very high demand and selected older editions are still suitable for use.

If combining current and older editions 

• Use TAFEcat title search to obtain permalink of the search to display multiple holdings as required. Limit your search by publication year if you need to exclude outdated editions.
• Add the year of the latest edition in brackets
• If eBooks are included in the search link, add eBook and book after the year e.g. (2018) - eBook and book
• Add Various editions available to the first line of the description field.

Examples

eBook example from EBSCO eBooks

Book example - only cover art available from Syndetics

Combining book and eBook of the same edition - examples

• Where eAudio is available as a format in combination with eBooks and or books, the order of the format description is eBook, eAudio and book

• Use the Book from the Catalog feature at Add/Reorder for adding books and eBooks.
• Use sentence case for books and eBook titles, except when including the title in the description field where title case should be used. 
• Add subtitles with - space colon space - to the title e.g. Event management : for tourism, cultural, business and sporting events. Subtitles are added in lower case.
• Preference should be given to the most current edition.
• Leave the default size for cover art - Small 90 px.
• Use TAFEcat account to obtain permalinks for books
• Books: add - Book after publication year in the title field e.g. Child development (2019) - Book
• eBooks: add - eBook after publication year in the title field e.g. Management (2019) - eBook
• Use direct links for eBooks if the title is only available as eBook or if it is available as unlimited licenses .(Refer to deeplinking instructions). 
• Book and eBook of the same title and edition: use TAFEcat search to obtain permalink of the search and add - eBook and book after publication year in the title field e.g. Cabinet making (2017) - eBook and book
• Book and eBook of the same title but different editions: acceptable for high demand items or if an older edition is required for the course. Follow the instructions for Combining current editions with older editions.
• If required, add additional bibliographical information for books and eBooks to the first line of the description field e.g. 15th ed.
• Feature no more than 7 items (up to 8 items only for horizontal box, preferably in sets of 4 or 8), unless it is a prescribed textbook list or reading list.
• If a box is on one item type only e.g. eBooks, you can remove the item type from the title. The box title needs to state the item type of the items displayed.

• Correct Syndetics book information with the information in TAFEcat record if required and use wording of title and publication year as displayed on TAFEcat.
• Write the book title in sentence case.
• Add a space before and after the colon for subtitles e.g. Management : theory and practice.  Subtitles are not capitalised.
• Add the publication year in brackets after the title and include item type/s e.g. Event management (2018) - eBook
• Remove the default date from the publication year field.
• Don't include call number for books.
• Remove ISBN from the ISBN field. 
• Syndetics description - in general don't include a description unless absolutely necessary. Customise and edit to short and sharp summaries, removing promotional content. Use sentence case for the description, except when including the book title which should be in title case.
• You can display the description if it does not wrap around the thumbnail image. For longer descriptions use the hover over option.
• Book cover - use the Syndetics book cover option and leave the default size for cover art - Small 90 px.
• If Syndetics covers are not available, you can link to book covers on the publisher's website.
•  If the only option is to upload the image to the image manager, seek permission from publishers not covered by the agreement between ALIA and the APA. For uploading of covers see the Image Manager page.
• You can also add the book as a link without cover at the bottom of the box where a cover is not available.
• If only the cover art is available, enter the title in sentence case and add year in brackets and item type/s as described above. Add a description and author information.

• Description display: Hover over item title (Recommended)
• Add description if none available to clarify content, short and sharp.
• If the description is short and doesn't wrap around the bookcover you can choose Display beneath the title.
• Author information can be removed if not required or moved to the description field. (Removal of the author information is required for horizontal boxes).

• If required, add additional bibliographical information for books and eBooks to the first line of the description field e.g. 15th ed.
• Use commas only to separate additional information.
• Keep additional information in a consistent style and order.
• Hover over the item title below to see the additional information.

• Do not use a specific publisher's cover image for a results list that contains publications by other publishers.
• Create a Book from the Catalog asset for your preferred publication if a cover image is available.
• Provide the result to other publications by other publishers as a link below the book asset.

Aspire Example

The book asset was created for various editions of the 'Aspire Learning Resources' on the unit of competency CHCDIV001 Work with diverse people. The results link below provides CHCDIV001 Work with diverse people publications by other publishers such as Smallprint.

• As there are likely to be multiple items that fit this circumstance in the English Language area, only choose book covers for selected feature items.
• Descriptions need to explain how the student can choose the correct format