Standards and Guidelines: A-Z eResources

The A-Z eResources contains records for databases and collections of eResources only. Do not add single eBooks, eVideos, eJournals or other resources to the A-Z eResources. These should be added to relevant guides only. An eResource considered for inclusion on the A-Z eResources list is:

• A state-wide, licenced web based service that provides a significant collection of resources of use to the teaching and learning needs of TAFE NSW.
• A freely available database that provides a significant collection of resources of use to the teaching and learning needs of TAFE NSW.

eResources such as publisher’s eBook collections that are not accessible to students outside of an LMS should not be included.

Freely available eResources should be added sparingly to the A-Z eResources. 

• They should contain comprehensive qualitative content.
• They must be of significant use to the teaching needs of TAFE NSW.
• They need to be easy to navigate.
• They need to be approved by the LibGuides user group.

• Subjects provide a way to organise eResources by subject area.
• Review the current subject list before deciding on selecting subjects.
• Best Bets: Use to describe the main content of the eResource.
• Additional Subjects: Use to describe secondary areas that may also apply.
• Currently the category All subjects must be added to all eResources under Additional Subjects so the eResources appear in the combined eResources list (https://tafensw.libguides.com/all).

Changes to the A-Z eResources can only be made by the following team members.

• Katherine McLay
• Susan Mansley

• eResource names need to reflect the actual name unless they are unclear or misleading e.g. Full Text Finder.
• Resource descriptions should not go over 2 lines if possible. If more space is needed use the “More information” option.
• eResource descriptions need to be in plain English and to the point. Remove sales talk.
• Do not add provider name in the eResource name e.g. ProQuest Central by ProQuest.
• Provider/vendor names are added to the Vendor/Provider section which allows limiting by vendor.
• Provider/vendor names can be added to the database description if required.
• eResource types need to reflect the main resource types in a collection. Use them sparingly. 
• Icons should be used sparingly. Currently restricted to video play icon for video instructions and question mark for link to help pages which will later be replaced by links to a How To LibGuide.
• eResource logos need to be up to date, have the same width and the text on the logos need to be readable. Height no more than 120px and width no more than 150px.

• Keep friendly URLs for eResources as short as possible so they can be used on printed flyers and posters e.g. tafensw.libguides.com/standards
• Use no more than 2 words without space or abbreviate eResource names that consists of multiple words e.g. tafensw.libguides.com/anzrc
• Don’t change the friendly URL once you have published it
• No spaces in the name
• No underscores in the name
• All lower case e.g. tafensw.libguides.com/proquest