Standards and Guidelines: eVideos and DVDs

Examples

Be as inclusive as possible!

• Prioritise eVideos over DVD. Only include DVDs if it is a major resource available at multiple locations where a course is running. 
• If the course is run in 5 or fewer locations only, you may use resources that are only available in these locations.

• Use the Add Link feature at Add/Reorder to add DVDs and eVideos without cover art
• Preference should be given to the most current edition.
• Use sentence case for the title. 
• Search TAFEcat to obtain the permalink  https://tafecat.tafensw.edu.au/client/en_AU/tafensw/search/results?qu=enhancing+teamwork&qf=-AUTHOR%09Author%09Johnston%2C+Ron+author%09Johnston%2C+Ron+author
• Add - eVideo and DVD at the end of the title e.g. Enhancing teamwork (2009) - eVideo and DVD
• Make sure the TAFEcat search permalink includes duplicate records  and all formats of the same title.
• Add further bibliographic information separated by commas in the description field above the description e.g. various editions available, series information, duration, subtitle and transcript information etc.
• If you link to a series, include the word series at the end of the title.
• Don't add any year if the production year differs in the combined search records.

Examples

• Use Add/Reorder > Add Link to add eVideos
• Preference should be given to the most current edition.
• Use sentence case for eVideo titles. 
• Use discretion when adding subtitles. Only add subtitles if they are meaningful. Add subtitles with - space colon space - to the title e.g. How to handle sheep : part 1 : general principles for handling sheep. Subtitles are added in lower case.

• For YouTube videos capture the title listed under the video and replace punctuation as appropriate. eg. Replace punctuation such as double dashes (- -), pipes (|), square brackets ([ ]), etc with colons :

• Add the year in brackets and - eVideo at the end of the title e.g. The healthy eating pyramid (2016) - eVideo

• Add further bibliographic information separated by commas in the description field above the description e.g. name of the video collection, series information, duration, closed captions information etc

• Keep the description short or use Hover over item title to hide the description.
• Use direct links for eVideos (Refer to deeplinking instructions). Do not use the link to the TAFEcat record.
• If a box is on one item type only e.g. eVideos, you can remove the item type from the title. The box title needs to state the item type of the items displayed.

Linking to series and playlists

• Include the word series or playlist at the end of the title followed by the year in bracket and the number of videos e.g. Office safety series (2018) - 5 eVideos 
• Don't add any year if the production year differs e.g. Resumes playlist - 10 eVideos

Examples

 You have the option to remove the item type from the title if you create a box with only one item type and the item type is included in the box title.

• Use Add/Reorder > Book from the Catalog to add DVDs.
• Preference should be given to the most current edition.
• Use sentence case for DVD titles, except when including the title in the description field where title case should be used. 
• Add subtitles with - space colon space - to the title e.g. Global oneness project : bringing the world to the classroom series (2014) - 11 eVideos. Subtitles are added in lower case.
• Add further bibliographic information separated by commas in the description field above the description e.g. various editions available, series information, duration, closed captions and transcript information etc.
• Use sentence case for the description, except when including the title which should be in title case.
• You can display the description if it does not wrap around the thumbnail image. For longer descriptions use the hover over option.
• Use the TAFEcat permalink for DVDs 
• DVDs: add - DVD at the end of the title e.g. Building Australia (2013) - DVD
• Make sure the TAFEcat search permalink includes duplicate records and all formats of the same title.
• Add the wording Various version available to the first line of the description

• Add DVD title in sentence case.
• Add the production year after the title in brackets and - DVD  e.g. The fifth element (1997) - DVD
• If combining DVD and eVideo add both formats after the year e.g. The fifth element (1997) - eVideo and DVD
• Don't include call number for DVDs.
• Keep the descriptions short. They should be less than 500 characters and be fully visible in the hover over box after saving.
• Include duration as part of the description if available.
• DVD cover - use the Syndetics DVD cover option (UPC instructions).
• You can only use an uploaded image of the DVD cover art or link to it on the Internet if you have the permission from the producer. For uploading of covers see the Image Manager page. 
• If no cover art is available, you can use the content item without cover art. At items without cover art at the end of your item list as links.

You can use the Books from the Catalog feature to add cover art for DVDs and CDs.

• Find the UPC number on the DVD or CD or try the Barnes & Noble's site. Amazon doesn't provide the UPC.
• Add UPC to the ISBN field and add enough 0s (zeros) to the front of the number to add up to 13.
• Click Get Book Info. The cover art may be provided but without title information.
• Use TAFEcat to source the title, publication date and permalink.
• Remove UPC number before saving item record.

Example: The Fifth Element DVD - UPC 0043396824096

Make sure the permalink includes all duplicate records of that title.

• If it involves different production years, add the latest year in brackets to the title 
• Add the wording Various versions available to the first line of the description

Example

• Add - eVideo and DVD at the end of the title e.g. Customer service excellence in the retail industry (2009) - eVideo and DVD
• Make sure the TAFEcat search permalink includes duplicate records and all formats of the same title.
• Add the wording Various versions available to the first line of the description

Example

• If required, add additional bibliographical information for eVideos and DVDs to the first line of the description field.
• Use commas only to separate additional information.
• Duration: Refer to guidelines under Numbers.
• Provider names: If you use videos from different providers in one box, it is advised to add the provider name to each video link e.g. ClickView, 1 hr. 30 min.
• Series or collections information: Add this information after the provider name e.g. ClickView, from series: customer service, 34 min. LinkedIn Learning, learning path, 5 hr. 45 min.
• Keep additional information in a consistent style and order.

Hover over the item titles below to see the additional information.