Standards and Guidelines: Deeplinking to Periodicals

Select the provider/database:

You can use the Permalink provided at the 'old' Fulltext Finder record if the record provides:

• access to multiple databases with different start and finish dates 
• a digital magazine format vs PDF or text format
• illustrations vs a text format

Please note: Follow the deeplinking instructions for individual databases if the databases available provide the same date range and the same format.

Do not use links retrieved from right-mouse clicking links to individual databases in the Full-text Finder record because these links are not persistent links or permalinks and may not work.

Full-Text Finder Permalink example: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edspub&AN=edp78041&site=pfi-live&scope=site&authtype=shib&custid=s8715057

• Use the EBSCO Permalink at the publication record. Click on Share and copy and paste the persistent link.
• Permalink example: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&jid=GVT&site=ehost-live&authtype=shib&custid=s8715057

Deeplinking to Flipster has been made even easier!

• Simply copy the URL at the publication or issue level
• If you are logged onto a TAFE NSW computer, the link will take you directly to the periodical or issue
• If you are using your personal device, you will be asked to log in with your TAFE credentials

You can deeplink to eJournals and articles.

To deep link to an Emerald eJournal, use the URL at the eJournal record

e.g. https://www.emerald.com/insight/publication/issn/1751-1062

Manually add the prefix: https://www.emerald.com/start-session?idp=https://aafidp.tafensw.edu.au/idp/shibboleth&return=

Deeplink to eJournal:  https://www.emerald.com/start-session?idp=https://aafidp.tafensw.edu.au/idp/shibboleth&return=https://www.emerald.com/insight/publication/issn/1751-1062

Deeplink to article: https://www.emerald.com/start-session?idp=https://aafidp.tafensw.edu.au/idp/shibboleth&return=https://www.emerald.com/insight/content/doi/10.1108/IJWBR-01-2021-0003/full/html

Deeplinking to publications

At the publication record, click the Copy URL icon to copy and paste the permanent link provided.

Deeplinking to publications

Copy the publication URL from the URL field and remove all characters before the word “journal”

https://search.informit.org/journal/ausjec

Add the SSO prefix: https://search.informit.org/action/ssostart?idp=auth.tafensw.edu.au&redirectUri=%2F

Permalink example: https://search.informit.org/action/ssostart?idp=auth.tafensw.edu.au&redirectUri=%2Fjournal/ausjec

Deeplinking to articles

Copy the article URL from the browser and remove all characters before the “doi” https://search.informit.org/doi/10.3316/informit.941026651803800

Add the SSO prefix: https://search.informit.org/action/ssostart?idp=auth.tafensw.edu.au&redirectUri=%2F

Permalink example: https://search.informit.org/action/ssostart?idp=auth.tafensw.edu.au&redirectUri=%2Fdoi/10.3316/informit.941026651803800

The pages below provides instructions for:

• EBSCO (Including publications, articles and searches)
• Gale (Including publications, articles and searches)

TAFEcat prefix

The prefix below is required to create deeplinks for Gale databases and A+ Education.

https://tafecat.tafensw.edu.au/tafecatalog/index.jsp?eResource=

Please note that deeplinking instructions are not available for all eResources. If you cannot find the instructions you are looking for here, please check the list below provided by LRMS.

Please note that deeplinking to PressReader is not available because the links are not stable.

When a PressReader journal title is retrieved, a link to PressReader is displayed and when you open the PressReader platform, you will need to search for the title again.