Home: Bachelor of Early Childhood Education and Care (Birth-5): eResources

About eResources

eResources include eBooks, online videos and newspaper, magazine and journal articles from databases which you can read online. To access use your TAFE NSW username and password.

Search eResources

For additional information and study support check out these links:

Suggested eResources

A+ Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides education research designed for the teaching professional ranging from early childhood to lifelong learning. Content is created and updated in partnership with the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive, scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database from EBSCO offers over 7,500 full-text journals and magazines. The collection also includes videos from news agencies with footage from 1930 to the present.

Australia New Zealand Reference Centre (ANZRC) Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search full text Australasian and International magazines, newspapers, reference books, biographies and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
Unique Australian titles in this EBSCO database include the Australian Financial Review, Choice and Computer Choice.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This EBSCO database covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, as well as curriculum instruction, policy, administration, funding, and related social issues.

Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A variety of resources for education, lifelong learning, and academic research ; peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts.

Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This Infobase database provides clear and reliable information on today’s most pressing health topics and key social concerns through articles, definitions, images and nearly 600 videos.
Subjects included are: anatomy & physiology; diseases & disorders; drug abuse & addiction; mental health & development disorders; nutrition & wellness

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides research and analysis on over 500 Australian industries, including statistics, trends and forecasts. 750+ Australia industry reports and 5,000 Australian and New Zealand enterprise profiles can be downloaded or viewed online.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A set of databases covering arts, literature, social science, business, science, nursing and medicine as well as a newspaper archive. Thousands of full-text scholarly journals, market reports, case studies, newspapers and magazines.

Taylor and Francis Online Education Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains content from over 120 journals in the education collection. To view the TAFE NSW subscription, please filter all searches to “Only show content I have full access to”.

Suggested eJournals

A-Z eJournals (Publication Finder) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for full text journals, newspapers, eBooks and other resources available from our databases by EBSCO, ProQuest, Gale, Informit and Emerald. Search options include searching by Title Name/ISSN/ISBN/Publisher/Subjects/Author.

Suggested eBooks

How children learn. Book 1, Educational theories and approaches : from Comenius, the father of modern education to giants such as Piaget, Vygotsky and Malaguzzi - eBook (2018)

Pedagogies for diverse contexts - eBook (2019)

The EYLF and NQS without tears : a step-by-step guide - eBook (2019)

Exceeding the standards : planning for continuous quality improvement - eBook (2019)

Child development : the developing child, communicating skillfully and nurturing competent learners - eBook (2018)

Pedagogies for leading practice - eBook (2019)

Assessment for learning : documentation and planning for the EYLF - eBook (2011)

Rethinking play as pedagogy - eBook (2019)

Birth and beyond : meaningful practice for babies and toddlers - eBook (2018)

STEM detectives : identifying and supporting science, technology, engineering and maths in children's play - eBook (2018)

Search eBooks

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to over 9,500 eBooks in a wide range of subject areas. eBooks can be downloaded for up to 7 days or read online. Please note that some books will not allow full download due to publisher restrictions but may allow chapter downloads instead.

eBooks available on child development, play, storytelling, philosophy and theory, and early childhood education

ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This small but growing collection provides eBooks on a broad range of topics. All eBooks can be read online and some can be downloaded for up to 21 days. The collection includes eBooks from publishers such as McGraw-Hill Australia, Cengage Australia, CSIRO and Wiley.

Issues in Society series
Issues in Society titles are topical, cross-curricular resources.
Each book targets a specific social issue and comprises a thoroughly researched compilation of the latest news, facts, statistics and commentary from trusted sources.

Suggested eVideos

ClickView This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 3,000 educational videos on a wide range of topics, including health and business, plus instructional content for trades, hospitality and tourism, and more. Many of the videos include resources to support learning.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
An online video library with access to thousands of educational films, documentaries, and news programs with a comprehensive topic profile.
Producers include A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, PBS NewsHour, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more

Early Childhood Australia Series

Everyday learning series - eBooks and books
Various years held. This series explores the possibilities offered by everyday experiences and provides ideas on how to create positive learning environments for young children and enhance their interactions with the world around them.
Research in practice series - eBooks and books
Various years held. The books are idea-rich, to-the-point and focus on the practical, ‘hands-on’ aspects of early childhood, making them ideally suited to early childhood educators.

State Library of New South Wales Resources

The State Library of New South Wales also has relevant eResources/databases accessible to NSW residents. To use State Library resources you must be a member of the State Library. To register for membership and obtain a State Library card select the link below:
https://www.sl.nsw.gov.au/research-and-collections/get-library-card