Skip to Main Content
Contact Libraries
Portal Login
TAFE NSW Libraries
Home
Higher Education Guides
Bachelor of Business
BUMAN101A Business Communication
Search this Guide
Search
Bachelor of Business : BUMAN101A Business Communication
Welcome
eResources
Web Resources
Year 1 Readings
Toggle Dropdown
BUFIN101A Accounting for Business
BUMAN101A Business Communication
BUMAN104A Organisational Behaviour
BUMAN107A Business Relationship Management
BUMAR101A Digital Marketing and Social Media
BUSTA102A Applied Business Statistics
BUFIN102A Economics for Business
BULAW101A Business Law
BUMAN105A Managing Organisations
Year 2 Readings
Toggle Dropdown
BUINT201A International Business
BUINT202A Global Business in a Cross-Cultural Environment
BUMAN202A Project Management
BUMAN203A Human Resources Management
BUMAR201A Business Research Management
BUMAR202A Buyer Behaviour
BUMAR203A Marketing Communication Management
Year 3 Readings
Toggle Dropdown
BUINT303A Applied Business Research Project
BUMAN301A Strategic Management
BUMAN302A Organisational Leadership
BUMAN307A Entrepreneurship - Theory to Application
BUMAN304A Business Ethics, Governance and Sustainability
BUMAN305A Driving Change and Developing Organisations
BUMAN306A Contemporary Employment Issues
BUMAR301A Business to Business Marketing
BUMAR302A Sales Management
BUMAR303A Digital and Data Analytics
BUWIL302A Experiential Professional Placement
Academic Skills
This link opens in a new window
Prescribed Text
The business communication handbook (2020) - eBook and book
by
Judith Dwyer
Various editions available
Recommended Texts
A-F
G-R
S-Z
Communication skills handbook (2014) - Book
by
Jane Summers
Various editions available
Conversations at work : promoting a culture of conversation in the changing workplace (2015) - eBook
by
Tim Baker; Aubrey Warren
Develop your presentation skills (2019) - eBook and book
by
Theo Theobald
Various editions available
Developing your emotional intelligence : boost your professional performance by understanding emotions (2016) - eBook
by
Maïlys Charlier; Carly Probert
English for academic correspondence (2016) - eBook
by
Adrian Wallwork
Excuse me : the survival guide to modern business etiquette (2017) - eBook
by
Rosanne J. Thomas
Give great presentations (and without a slide-deck) : a shortcut to better presenting and public speaking (2015) - eBook
by
Nicholas Bate
I hear you : repair communication breakdowns, negotiate successfully, and build consensus... in three simple steps (2013) - eBook
by
Donny Ebenstein
The leader's guide to presenting (2017) - eBook
by
Tom Bird; Jeremy Cassell
Presentation skills : one hour workshop (2015) - eBook
by
Carol Silvis
Secret sauce : how to pack your messages with persuasive punch (2017) - eBook
by
Harry Mills
Seven disciplines of a leader : how to help your people, team, and organization achieve maximum effectiveness (2015) - eBook
by
Jeff Wolf
Smart teams : communicate, congregate, collaborate : how to work better together (2018) - eBook, eAudio and book
by
Dermot Crowley
Teach yourself visually PowerPoint 2016 (2016) - eBook and book
by
Barbara Boyd; Ray Anthony
Teach yourself visually Word 2016 (2016) - eBook and book
by
Elaine Marmel
Working in a multicultural world : a guide to developing intercultural competence (2017) - eBook
by
Luciara Nardon
Weekly Readings
Week 1
Week 2
Week 3
Week 4
Week 5
Week 6
Week 7
Week 8
Week 9
Week 10
Dwyer, J & Hopwood, N 2020
The business communication handbook,
11th edn, eBook, viewed 30 July 2024, Proquest eBook Central.
Chapter 1 Understand communication practices
Dwyer, J & Hopwood, N 2020
The business communication handbook,
11th edn, eBook, viewed 30 July 2024, Proquest eBook Central.
Chapter 12 Analyse and present research information
Andrew 2013,
How to write a thesis for beginners
,
online video, viewed 30 July 2024, <https://youtu.be/wCzuAMVmIZ8>.
Dwyer, J & Hopwood, N 2020
The business communication handbook,
11th edn, eBook, viewed 30 July 2024, Proquest eBook Central.
Chapter 16 Write short reports
Chapter 17 Write long reports
Livingston, K n.d.,
Guide to writing a basic essay
,
viewed 30 July 2024, <http://lklivingston.tripod.com/essay/sample.html>.
Dwyer, J & Hopwood, N 2020
The business communication handbook,
11th edn, eBook, viewed 30 July 2024, Proquest eBook Central.
Chapter 14 Effective business writing
Chapter 15 Writing business letters
Dlugan, A 2009,
How to improve your powerpoint slides with the rule of thirds
,
Six minutes: speaking and presentation skills, viewed 30 July 2024, <http://sixminutes.dlugan.com/rule-of-thirds-powerpoint/>.
Dwyer, J & Hopwood, N 2020
The business communication handbook,
11th edn, eBook, viewed 30 July 2024, Proquest eBook Central.
Chapter 7 Deliver presentations and speeches
Ethos3 2014,
The rule of three for presentations
,
online video, viewed 28 August 2024, <https://youtu.be/Byl8uRkxxGo>.
Presentation skills 3: the rule of three
2009,
Presentation Magazine, viewed 28 August 2024, <https://www.presentationmagazine.com/presentation-skills-3-the-rule-three-7283.htm>.
Summers, J & Smith, B 2014,
Communication skills handbook
,
4th edn, John Wiley & Sons Australia, Milton, Qld.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 6 Oral presentations
Theobald, T 2013,
Develop your presentation skills
,
eBook, viewed 28 August 2024, EBSCO eBooks.
Dwyer, J & Hopwood, N 2020
The business communication handbook,
11th edn, eBook, viewed 30 July 2024, Proquest eBook Central.
Chapter 21 Manage team effectiveness
McQuerry, L 2018,
Examples of communication problems in the workplace
,
Chron, viewed 30 July 2024, <https://smallbusiness.chron.com/examples-communication-problems-workplace-11243.html>.
Dwyer, J & Hopwood, N 2020
The business communication handbook,
11th edn, eBook, viewed 30 July 2024, Proquest eBook Central.
Chapter 23 Organise and manage meetings
How to take and write minutes
2017,
University of Western Australia, viewed 3 November 2020, <https://www.governance.uwa.edu.au/committees/principles/meetings/preparation/minutes>.
Dwyer, J, Hopwood, N, 2020
The business communication handbook,
11th edn, eBook, viewed 30 July 2024, Proquest eBook Central.
Chapter 8 Develop negotiation and conflict management skills
Leading change: communicating in a conflict situation
2018,
online video, Skillsoft YouTube, viewed 30 July 2024, <https://youtu.be/EzISYPOhMmI>.
Dwyer, J & Hopwood, N 2020
The business communication handbook,
11th edn, eBook, viewed 30 July 2024, Proquest eBook Central.
Chapter 2 Develop emotional intelligence and interpersonal intelligence
Chapter 20 Develop effective workplace relationships
16 personalities
2019,
Neris Analytics Limited, viewed 30 July 2024, <https://www.16personalities.com/>.
Dwyer, J & Hopwood, N 2020
The business communication handbook,
11th edn, eBook, viewed 30 July 2024, Proquest eBook Central.
Chapter 10 Deliver and monitor service to address customer needs
Chapter 11 Manage customer engagement
<<
Previous:
BUFIN101A Accounting for Business
Next:
BUMAN104A Organisational Behaviour >>
The business communication handbook (2020) - eBook and book by 
Communication skills handbook (2014) - Book by 
Develop your presentation skills (2019) - eBook and book by 
