Home: Bachelor of Applied Commerce: ACFIN302A Investment Analysis

Prescribed Text

Fundamentals of investing (2011) - eBook and book by Lawrence J. Gitman
Various editions available

Recommended Texts

Essentials of investments (2016) - Book by Zvi Bodie
Various editions available
Financial institutions and markets (2015) - Book by Ben Hunt
Various editions available
Financial institutions, instruments and markets (2019) - eBook and book by Christopher Viney
Various editions available
Financial planning (2014) - Book by Warren McKeown
Financial planning in Australia : advice and wealth management (2022) - eBook and book by Sharon Taylor
Various editions available
Fundamentals of corporate finance (2017) - eBook and book by Stephen Ross
Various editions available

Investments : analysis and management (2013) - Book by Charles P. Jones
Various editions available
Investments : concepts and applications (2015) - Book by Tim Brailsford
Various editions available
Principles of investments (2013) - Book by Zvi Bodie

Readings

Brailsford, T, Heaney, R & Bilson, C 2015, Investments: concepts and applications,
5th edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...less...
Book available in library collection.
Chapter 1 The investment decision, p. 2-10
Gitman, L, Joehnk, M, Smart, S, Juchau, R, Ross, D & Wright, S 2011, Fundamentals of investing,
3rd edn, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 1 The investment environment
McKeown, W, Kerry, M & Olynyk, M 2014, Financial planning,
2nd edn, Wiley, Milton, Qld.
more...less...
Book available in library collection.
Chapter 4 Investment choices, pp. 142-147

Bodie, Z, Drew, ME, Basu, A, Kane, A & Marcus, AJ 2013, Principles of investments,
McGraw Hill Education, North Ryde, NSW.
more...less...
Book available in library collection.
pp. 33-44
Brailsford, T, Heaney, R & Bilson, C 2015, Investments: concepts and applications,
5th edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...less...
Book available in library collection.
pp. 40-9, 73-9
Gitman, L, Joehnk, M, Smart, S, Juchau, R, Ross, D & Wright, S 2011, Fundamentals of investing,
3rd edn, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 2 Markets and transactions
Chapter 3 Investment information and securities transaction, pp. 62-73

Web resources

Moneysmart n.d., Borrowing to invest: margin loans,
Australian Securities & Investments Commission, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://moneysmart.gov.au/how-to-invest/borrowing-to-invest>.

Bodie, Z, Drew, ME, Basu, A, Kane, A & Marcus, AJ 2013, Principles of investments,
McGraw Hill Education, North Ryde, NSW.
more...less...
Book available in library collection.
pp. 65-92
Brailsford, T, Heaney, R & Bilson, C 2015, Investments: concepts and applications,
5th edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...less...
Book available in library collection.
pp. 10-26, 36-7
Gitman, L, Joehnk, M, Smart, S, Juchau, R, Ross, D & Wright, S 2011, Fundamentals of investing,
3rd edn, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 4 Return and risk
Appendix 4A The time value of money
Ross, S, Trayler, R, Hambusch, G, Koh, C, Glover, K, Westerfield, R & Jordan, B 2021, Fundamentals of corporate finance,
8th edn, eBook, viewed 1 July 2022, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 13 Return, risk, and the security market line

Bodie, Z, Drew, ME, Basu, A, Kane, A & Marcus, AJ 2013, Principles of investments,
McGraw Hill Education, North Ryde, NSW.
more...less...
Book available in library collection.
pp. 47-54
Gitman, L, Joehnk, M, Smart, S, Juchau, R, Ross, D & Wright, S 2011, Fundamentals of investing,
3rd edn, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 12 Managed funds: professionally managed portfolios
McKeown, W, Kerry, M & Olynyk, M 2014, Financial planning,
2nd edn, Wiley, Milton, Qld.
more...less...
Book available in library collection.
pp. 262-307

Brailsford, T, Heaney, R & Bilson, C 2015, Investments: concepts and applications,
5th edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...less...
Book available in library collection.
Risky asset pricing models and the CAPM. pp. 236-256, 267-268
Gitman, L, Joehnk, M, Smart, S, Juchau, R, Ross, D & Wright, S 2011, Fundamentals of investing,
3rd edn, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 5 Modern Portfolio Concepts
McKeown, W, Kerry, M & Olynyk, M 2014, Financial planning,
2nd edn, Wiley, Milton, Qld.
more...less...
Book available in library collection.
Benefits and diversification, pp. 151-160

Gitman, L, Joehnk, M, Smart, S, Juchau, R, Ross, D & Wright, S 2011, Fundamentals of investing,
3rd edn, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 9 Technical analysis, market efficiency and behavioural finance, pp. 283-294

Bodie, Z, Drew, ME, Basu, A, Kane, A & Marcus, AJ 2013, Principles of investments,
McGraw Hill Education, North Ryde, NSW.
more...less...
Book available in library collection.
Industry analysis, pp. 347-353
Gitman, L, Joehnk, M, Smart, S, Juchau, R, Ross, D & Wright, S 2011, Fundamentals of investing,
3rd edn, ProQuest eBook Central.
Economic analysis, pp. 212-237
Technical analysis, market efficiency and behavioural finance, pp. 295-308
Viney, C & Phillips, P 2019, Financial institutions, instruments and markets,
9th edn, eBook, viewed 19 September 2022, ProQuest Central.
Chapter 7 Forecasting share price movements

Gitman, L, Joehnk, M, Smart, S, Juchau, R, Ross, D & Wright, S 2011, Fundamentals of investing,
3rd edn, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 8 Share valuation
Ross, S, Trayler, R, Hambusch, G, Koh, C, Glover, K, Westerfield, R & Jordan, B 2021, Fundamentals of corporate finance,
8th edn, eBook, viewed 1 July 2022, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 8 Share valuation

Gitman, L, Joehnk, M, Smart, S, Juchau, R, Ross, D & Wright, S 2011, Fundamentals of investing,
3rd edn, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 10 Fixed-income securities, pp. 321-337
Chapter 11 Bond valuation, pp354-378
Hunt, B & Terry, C 2018, Financial institutions + markets,
8th edn, Cengage, North Melbourne.
more...less...
Book available in library collection
Chapter 8 The bond market
Ross, S, Trayler, R, Hambusch, G, Koh, C, Glover, K, Westerfield, R & Jordan, B 2021, Fundamentals of corporate finance,
8th edn, eBook, viewed 1 July 2022, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 8 Share valuation

Web resources

The Australian Financial Markets Association 2017, Market conventions,
AFMA, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://afma.com.au/standards/market-conventions>.
Australian Stock Exchange 2018, Exchange-traded treasury bonds (TBs),
ASX, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://www.asx.com.au/products/bonds/exchange-traded-treasury-bonds.htm>.
Australian Stock Exchange 2016, Understanding bonds: a guide to understanding simple bonds traded on the ASX,
ASX, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://www.asx.com.au>.
Reserve Bank of Australia 2018, Pricing formulae for Australian government securities,
RBA, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://www.rba.gov.au/mkt-operations/resources/tech-notes/pricing-formulae.html>.

Gitman, L, Joehnk, M, Smart, S, Juchau, R, Ross, D & Wright, S 2011, Fundamentals of investing,
3rd edn, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 17 Real estate and other tangible investments
Taylor, S 2020, Financial planning in Australia: advice and wealth management,
9th edn, eBook, viewed 7 July 2022, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 11 Investing in property and collectables

Web resources

A-REITs 2020,
Australian Stock Exchange, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://www.asx.com.au/products/managed-funds/areits.htm>.
Australian Stock Exchange 2018, EFTs and ETPs course,
ASX, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://www.asx.com.au/education/etfs-etcs-course.htm>.

Gitman, L, Joehnk, M, Smart, S, Juchau, R, Ross, D & Wright, S 2011, Fundamentals of investing,
3rd edn, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 17 Real estate and other tangible investments
Taylor, S 2020, Financial planning in Australia: advice and wealth management,
9th edn, eBook, viewed 7 July 2022, ProQuest eBook Central.
Chapter 11 Investing in property and collectables

Web resources

Australian Securities & Investments Commission 2017, Crowd-sourced funding,
ASIC, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://asic.gov.au/regulatory-resources/financial-services/crowd-sourced-funding/>.

Bachelor of Applied Commerce: ACFIN302A Investment Analysis

Prescribed Text

Recommended Texts

Readings

Websites