Skip to Main Content
Contact Libraries
Portal Login
TAFE NSW Libraries
Home
Higher Education Guides
Bachelor of Applied Commerce
ACBUS103A Foundations of Accounting
Search this Guide
Search
Bachelor of Applied Commerce: ACBUS103A Foundations of Accounting
This guide supports the Diploma and the Bachelor of Applied Commerce
Welcome
eResources
Web Resources
Year 1 Readings
Toggle Dropdown
ACBUS101A Academic Foundations
ACBUS102A Management Fundamentals
ACBUS103A Foundations of Accounting
ACBUS104A Finance and Investment
ACBUS106A Marketing Fundamentals
ACBUS107A Financial Planning Fundamentals
ACBUS108A Applied Economics
Year 2 Readings
Toggle Dropdown
BUMAN201A Business Maths and Statistics
ACACT201A Accounting Information Systems
ACACT202A Management Accounting
ACACT203A Financial Accounting
ACBUS201A Commercial Law I
ACBUS202A Commercial Law II
ACBUS203A Income Tax Law
ACBUS204A Business Finance
ACFIN201A Psychology of Client Engagement
ACFIN202A Insurance Planning
Year 3 Readings
Toggle Dropdown
ACACT301A Corporation and Trust Law
ACACT302A Advanced Financial Accounting
ACACT303A Advanced Management Accounting
ACACT304A Audit and Assurance in Practice
ACACT305A Contemporary Accounting Concepts
ACBUS301A Applied Income Tax
ACFIN301A Superannuation and Retirement
ACFIN302A Investment Analysis
ACFIN303A Estate Planning
ACFIN304A Financial Plan Construction
Academic Skills
This link opens in a new window
Prescribed Text
AACT4 financial Asia-Pacific edition (2022) - Book
by
Jonathan Tyler
Recommended Websites
Certified Practicing Accountant (CPA) Australia
Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ)
Institute of Public Accountants (IPA)
International Financial Reporting Standards Foundation (IFRS)
Weekly Readings
Week 1
Week 2
Week 3
Week 4
Week 5
Week 6
Week 7
Week 8
Week 9
Week 10
Week 11
Week 12
Tyler, J, Godwin, NH & Alderman, CW 2022,
ACCT4 financial
,
4th Asia-Pacific edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 1 Financial accounting
Chapter 2 Financial statements
Tyler, J 2022,
ACCT4 financial
,
4th Asia-Pacific edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 3 Recording accounting transactions
Additional Reading
Accounting cycle: debits and credits
2014,
online video, Dude Where's My Profit, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://youtu.be/sL8Q2AIxy3M>.
Averkamp, H 2020,
Accounting principles: explanation
,
Accounting Coach, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://www.accountingcoach.com/accounting-principles/explanation>.
Tyler, J 2022,
ACCT4 financial
,
4th Asia-Pacific edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 4 Accrual accounting and adjusting entries
Additional Reading
My Accounting Course 2020,
Accounting principles
,
viewed 1 October 2020, <https://www.myaccountingcourse.com/accounting-principles>.
Tyler, J, Godwin, NH & Alderman, CW 2022,
ACCT4 financial
,
4th Asia-Pacific edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 4 Accrual accounting and adjusting entries
Additional Reading
Accounting Professional & Ethical Standards Boards 2015,
Code of ethics for professional accountants
,
APESB, viewed 1 October 2020, <https:apesb.org.au/uploads/standards/apesb_standards>.
Tyler, J, Godwin, NH & Alderman, CW 2022,
ACCT4 financial
,
4th Asia-Pacific edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 13 Financial statement analysis
Additional Reading
AustLII,
Corporations Act 2001
,
viewed 1 October 2020, <http://www5.austlii.edu.au/legis/cth/consol_act/ca2001172>.
Australian Securities & Investment Commission 2020,
Corporate governance
,
ASIC, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://asic.gov.au/regulatory-resources/corporate-governance/>.
Lansley, A, Gibson, B & Fogarty, M 2002, 'Corporate governance in Australia',
International Financial Law Review
, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://www.iflr.com/Article/2027064/Corporate-governance-in-Australia.html?Articled=2027064>.
Wesfarmers 2019,
Annual report
,
Wesfarmers, viewed 1 October 2020, <https:/sitefinity.wesfarmers.com.au/docs/default-source/reports/wesfarmers-2019-annual-report.pdf?sfvrsn=2>.
Tyler, J, Godwin, NH & Alderman, CW 2022,
ACCT4 financial
,
4th Asia-Pacific edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 6 Receivable
Workshop Reading
McLaughlin, M 2020,
Accounts receivable
,
online video, Edspira, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://youtu.be/XKFUB3Y6Hqo>.
Tyler, J, Godwin, NH & Alderman, CW 2022,
ACCT4 financial
,
4th Asia-Pacific edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 7 Inventory
Workshop Reading
McLaughlin, M 2015,
Periodic vs perpetual inventory accounting
,
Edspira, online video, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://youtu.be/yv4E_d5atd4>.
Tyler, J, Godwin, NH & Alderman, CW 2022,
ACCT4 financial
,
4th Asia-Pacific edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 8 Non-current assets and intangible assets
Tyler, J, Godwin, NH & Alderman, CW 2022,
ACCT4 financial
,
4th Asia-Pacific edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 5 Cash and internal controls
Tyler, J, Godwin, NH & Alderman, CW 2022,
ACCT4 financial
,
4th Asia-Pacific edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 12 Statement of cash flows
Workshop Reading
MissMelekT 2009,
Cash versus profit
,
online video, viewed 1 October 2020, <https://youtu.be/5CPKYFA3Tvo>.
Tyler, J, Godwin, NH & Alderman, CW 2022,
ACCT4 financial
,
4th Asia-Pacific edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 12 Statement of cash flows
Tyler, J, Godwin, NH & Alderman, CW 2022,
ACCT4 financial
,
4th Asia-Pacific edn, Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Vic.
more...
less...
Book available in the library collection.
Chapter 10 Partnership
<<
Previous:
ACBUS102A Management Fundamentals
Next:
ACBUS104A Finance and Investment >>
