Home: Laboratory Operations: eResources

About eResources

eResources include eBooks, online videos and newspaper, magazine and journal articles from databases which you can read online. To access use your TAFE NSW username and password.

Search eResources

For additional information and study support check out these links:

Suggested eResources

WHS Monitor – Chemical Management This link opens in a new window
This database holds safety, toxicological and physical information on thousands of chemical products. Information is presented in internationally recognised Safety Data Sheets (SDS).
Science Online This link opens in a new window
This database by Infobase presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, diagrams, biographies, experiments, definitions, images, and videos and animations.
Subject areas included: chemistry; computer science; earth science; environmental science; marine science; mathematics; physics; space & astronomy; weather & climate
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
This resource by Primal Pictures provides 3D human anatomy. Features include animations, images, zoom, multi-layer views, MRI scans and x-rays, clinical slides and patient education sheets. Preferred browsers are Chrome, Firefox and Safari.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This interactive learning aid allows you to explore and manipulate 3D models allowing you to better visualise and understand human anatomy. Activities and self-administered quizzes for each model are included.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A variety of resources for education, lifelong learning, and academic research ; peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A set of databases covering arts, literature, social science, business, science, nursing and medicine as well as a newspaper archive. Thousands of full-text scholarly journals, market reports, case studies, newspapers and magazines.

Standards Online

Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes current Australian and New Zealand standards, draft standards and amendments. Australian Standards are protected by copyright law and a licence agreement. It is possible to set up alerts to keep track of updates to standards.

Standards listed below are some of the Australian Standards relevant to your course. Login to the database to search for more.

AS 2243.1:2021 Safety in laboratories, Part 1: Planning and operational aspects
AS 2134.2-1999 (R2016) Recommended practice for chemical analysis by atomic absorption spectrometry - Graphite furnace spectrometry
AS 3641.1—1999, Recommended practice for atomic emission spectrometric analysis Part 1 : Principles and techniques. Reconfirmed 2016
AS 3641.2-1999 (R2016) Recommended practice for atomic emission spectrometric analysis - Inductively coupled plasma excitation
AS 3753-2001 (R2016) : Recommended practice for chemical analysis by ultraviolet/visible spectrophotometry
AS 5013.0-2010 : Food microbiology - General introduction to the Australian Standard methods for food microbiology
AS ISO/IEC 17025 : 2018 General requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories
AS ISO 15189 : Medical laboratories - Requirements for quality and competence
ISO 11138-1:2017 : Sterilization of health care products - Biological indicators - Part 1: General requirements
ISO 11138-2:2017 : Sterilization of health care products - Biological indicators - Part 2: Biological indicators for ethylene oxide sterilization processes

Suggested eBooks

Search eBooks

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to over 9,500 eBooks in a wide range of subject areas. eBooks can be downloaded for up to 7 days or read online. Please note that some books will not allow full download due to publisher restrictions but may allow chapter downloads instead.

Use your TAFE username and password to access eBooks.

Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection gives access to over 2,500 eBooks covering a wide range of subjects - from literature and language reference, to world history, religion and philosophy.

ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This small but growing collection provides eBooks on a broad range of topics. All eBooks can be read online and some can be downloaded for up to 21 days. The collection includes eBooks from publishers such as McGraw-Hill Australia, Cengage Australia, CSIRO and Wiley.

Suggested eJournals

A-Z eJournals (Publication Finder) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for full text journals, newspapers, eBooks and other resources available from our databases by EBSCO, ProQuest, Gale, Informit and Emerald. Search options include searching by Title Name/ISSN/ISBN/Publisher/Subjects/Author.

Suggested eVideos

ClickView This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 3,000 educational videos on a wide range of topics, including health and business, plus instructional content for trades, hospitality and tourism, and more. Many of the videos include resources to support learning.

Safetyhub Videos This link opens in a new window
Access to Safetycare's extensive range of Occupational Health and Safety streaming videos for Australian Workplaces. Online videos on ergonomics, fire awareness, forklift safety, manual handling, personal protective equipment plus more Work, Health and Safety topics.