Home: Wildlife and Exhibited Animal Care: eResources

About eResources

eResources include eBooks, online videos and newspaper, magazine and journal articles from databases which you can read online. To access use your TAFE NSW username and password.

Search eResources

For additional information and study support check out these links:

Suggested eResources

IVS Cloud This link opens in a new window
IVS Cloud by MIMS provides detailed product and prescribing information for veterinary practitioners, on veterinary medicines and products available throughout Australia.
PlantFile This link opens in a new window
Contains 3,800 plant species with cultivars that are accompanied with 17,000 photographs. It allows you to sort, select and identify commonly used plants and print reports. It also covers common pests and diseases with their control methods.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
A variety of resources for education, lifelong learning, and academic research ; peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts.
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
This small but growing collection provides eBooks on a broad range of topics. All eBooks can be read online and some can be downloaded for up to 21 days. The collection includes eBooks from publishers such as McGraw-Hill Australia, Cengage Australia, CSIRO and Wiley.

PressReader

PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of popular newspapers and magazines in their original format. Start reading 7000+ publications from 120+ countries in 60+ languages. Read publications cover to cover, just the way the title was printed with no compromises in quality or content.

BBC wildlife - eMagazine
Australian geographic - eMagazine
Animal scene - eMagazine
Practical fishkeeping - eMagazine
Pets - eMagazine
Modern dog - eMagazine
Modern cat - eMagazine

Log in to PressReader and search for the titles above. You can download them to the PressReader app on your device/s and they will stay there until you delete them.

Suggested eJournals

Veterinary nursing journal - eJournal and Journal
Various years available. The VNJ is the international peer reviewed journal of the British Veterinary Nursing Association. The research articles featured in this journal contribute to the progression of evidence based veterinary nursing. This journal is also available online via EBSCOhost (2012 to present)
Veterinary team brief - eJournal
Aims to provide readers revolutionary new ways of creating leaders in the veterinary profession, as well as offering professional development and training for the entire veterinary team. (2013 to 2018)

eJournal Articles

Zoo Aquarium Association (ZAA)

Zoo Aquarium Association (ZAA)
Represents the collective voice of the zoos, aquariums, sanctuaries and wildlife parks across Australasia that operate to the highest standards.

Selected animal studies courses only. Please contact your teacher for access to ZAA services.

Husbandry Guidelines

These guidelines were written by TAFE NSW students and include:

Amphibians
Birds
Eutherians
Fish and Invertebrates
Monotremes
Reptiles

Additional guidelines can be found at the website of the Australasian Society of Zoo Keeping (ASZK)

Suggested eBooks

Films on Demand eVideos

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
An online video library with access to thousands of educational films, documentaries, and news programs with a comprehensive topic profile.
Producers include A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, PBS NewsHour, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more