Home: Captive and Exhibited Animals: Environmentally Sustainable Work Practices

Suggested eBooks

Web Resources

Standards Online

Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes current Australian and New Zealand standards, draft standards and amendments. Australian Standards are protected by copyright law and a licence agreement. It is possible to set up alerts to keep track of updates to standards.

Relevant standards include:
AS/NZS 3816:1998 - Management of clinical and related wastes

AS/NZS 4197:2014 - Reprocessing of reusable devices in health service organisations

AS/NZS 4815:2006 - Office-based health care facilities - reprocessing of reusable medical and surgical instruments and equipment and maintenance of the associated environment

AS/NZS 4261:1994 and Amendment 1:1997 Reusable containers of sharp items used in human and animal medical application

AS ISO 20400:2018 Sustainable procurement - Guidance

Suggested DVDs

Suggested eJournals

A-Z eJournals (Publication Finder) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for full text journals, newspapers, eBooks and other resources available from our databases by EBSCO, ProQuest, Gale, Informit and Emerald. Search options include searching by Title Name/ISSN/ISBN/Publisher/Subjects/Author.

Featured eVideos

Melbourne Zoo is aiming for zero waste to landfill (2019)
YouTube video by Zoos Victoria, 2 min.
Zoos Victoria is carbon neutral! (2013)

Suggested eResources

WHS Monitor – Chemical Management This link opens in a new window
This database holds safety, toxicological and physical information on thousands of chemical products. Information is presented in internationally recognised Safety Data Sheets (SDS).

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text journal database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals covering ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental policy, sustainability and other related subjects.

Science Online This link opens in a new window
This database by Infobase presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, diagrams, biographies, experiments, definitions, images, and videos and animations.
Subject areas included: chemistry; computer science; earth science; environmental science; marine science; mathematics; physics; space & astronomy; weather & climate

Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers aspects of sustainability, including environmental stewardship, corporate social responsibility and federal, state and local regulations. It offers quick access to critical information. Includes full text journals, magazines, trade publications and expert analyses.

Suggested Books

Resources by Subject Area

Choose a subject from the list below to find relevant books, DVDs, eBooks and other online resources.