Home: Bachelor of Creative Practice: CPTHC302A Contemporary Theory

Prescribed Weekly Readings

Bennett, G 1996, 'The manifest toe',
in I McLean & G Bennett, The art of Gordon Bennett, Craftsman House, Roseville East, NSW, pp. 9-63.
Bishop, C, Riff, D, Delat, C, & Degot, E 2015, 'Toward participatory aesthetics: an interview with Claire Bishop',
in R Martin (ed.), The Routledge companion to art and politics, Routledge, London, pp.230-236.
Bishop, C et al 2012, 'Remote possibilities: land art's changing terrain',
in J Kastner (ed.), Nature, Whitechapel Gallery, London, pp.107-113.
Book available in the library collection.
Butler, R 2008, 'The world is not enough: art and globalization',
ArtUS, issue 21, pp. 29-37, viewed 13 October 2021, Art & Architecture Complete.
Chave, AC 1990, 'Minimalism and the rhetoric of power',
Arts Magazine, vol. 64, no. 5, pp. 44-64, viewed 15 May 2025, <http://annachave.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Minimalism.pdf>.
Cockroft, E 1974, 'Abstract expressionism: weapon of the Cold war',
Artforum, vol. 15, no. 10, pp. 39 - 41, viewed 14 May 2025, <https://web.archive.org/web/20201223135309/msu.edu/course/ha/240/evacockroft.pdf>.
Da Silva, J 2010, ‘Real-time curating: participatory image-making in art and culture’,
in M Wallace, 21st century: art in the first decade, QAGoMA, Brisbane, pp. 46-51.
de Oliveira, N 2003, 'Exchange and interaction',
in N de Oliveira, N Oxley & M Petry (eds), Installation art in the new millennium: the empire of the senses, Thames & Hudson, London, pp. 106-131.
Ding, L & Lu, CY 2013, ‘Accidental message: art is not a system, not a world',
in H Belting, A Buddensieg, & P Weibel (eds), The global contemporary and the rise of new art worlds, ZKM/Center for Art and Media, Karlsruhe, Germany, pp. 310-315.
Book available in the library collection.
Geczy, A & Millner, J 2015, Fashionable art,
eBook, viewed 19 May 2025, Bloomsbury Fashion Central. (Chapter 8 Donald Judd or IKEA?)
Greene, T 2010, 'Mud, sweat and oil paint',
Modern Painters, vol. 22, no. 3, pp. 32 - 34, viewed 14 May 2025, Art and Architecture Complete.
Groys, B 2014, 'On art activism',
e-flux Journal, no. 56, viewed 14 May 2025,
<http://worker01.e-flux.com/pdf/article_8984545.pdf>.
Hakansson, H 2012, 'Earth sound research revival: conversation with Jorg Heiser',
in J Kastner (ed.), Nature, Whitechapel Gallery, London, pp. 198 - 201.
Book available in the library collection.
Harvey, D 1999, 'Postmodernism',
in A Elliott (ed.), The Blackwell reader in contemporary social theory, Wiley-Blackwell, Hoboken, pp. 303-316.
Book available in the library collection.
Heartney, E 2007, 'Cindy Sherman: the polemics of play',
in E Heartney, H Posner, N Princenthal & S Scott, After the revolution: women who transformed contemporary art, Prestel, Munich, pp. 168 -187.
Book available in the library collection.
Heartney, E 2008, Art and today,
Phiadon Press, London. (Art nature technology: remaking land and body, pp. 168-191)
Book available in the library collection.
Iversen, M 2004, 'Readymade, found object, photograph',
Art Journal, vol. 63, no. 2, pp. 45-57, viewed 14 May 2025, Academic Search Complete.

Kolotylo, O n.d., Curatorial activism: from magicians of the earth to documenta 11,
Academia, viewed 13 October 2020, <https://www.academia.edu/37992144/Curatorial_Activism_From_Magicians_of_the_Earth_to_Documenta_11>.
Krauss, RE 1985, The originality of the avant-garde and other modernist myths,
MIT Press, Cambridge, Mass. (Sculpture in the expanded field, pp. 276-290)
Book available in the library collection.
La Frenais, R 2018, 'Deep time',
Art Monthly, no. 422, pp.11-15, viewed 14 May 2025, Art and Architecture Complete.
Laiola, SW 2018, 'From float to flicker: information processing, racial semiotics and anti-racist protest from 'I am Man' to 'Black Lives Matter'',
Criticism, vol. 60, no. 2, pp. 247-268, viewed 19 May 2025, Art and Architecture Complete.
Robinson, J 2010, 'The sculpture of indeterminacy: Alison Knowles' beans and variations',
in M Iversen (ed.), Chance, Whitechapel Gallery, MIT Press, Cambridge, MA, pp. 102-105.
Book available in the library collection.
Montenegro Rosero, AD 2015, 'Radical (dis)identification: Santiago Sierra's double(d) spectator',
Third Text, vol. 29, no. 6, pp. 487-497, viewed 19 May 2025, Art and Architecture Complete.
Scott, E 2014, 'Feeling in the dark',
American Art, vol. 28, no. 3, pp. 14-20, viewed 14 May 2025, Art and Architecture Complete.
Solomon-Godeau, A 1990, 'Postmodernist photography: the third time around: a case history'',
in C Squires (ed.), The critical image: essays on contemporary photography, Bay Press, Seattle, pp. 60-79.
Book available in the library collection.
Storer, R 2010, 'More than half the world: Asian and Pacific artists in the 21st century',
in M Wallace (ed.), 21st century: art in the first decade, Queensland Art Gallery, South Brisbane, pp. 34-39.
Book available in the library collection.
Terziyska, Y 2018, 'Us or chaos',
Afterimage, vol. 45, no. 6, pp. 28-31, viewed 14 May 2025, Art and Architecture Complete.
Webb, J 2005, 'Art in a globalised state',
in C Turner (ed.), Art and social change: contemporary art in Asia and the Pacific, Pandanus Books, Canberra.
Book available in the library collection.
Weibel, P 2013, 'Globalization and contemporary art',
in H Belting, A Buddensieg, & P Weibel (eds), The global contemporary and the rise of new art worlds, ZKM/Center for Art and Media, Karlsruhe, Germany. (pp. 20-27)
Book available in the library collection.

Belting, H 2011, World art and global art: a new challenge to art history,
online video, Global Art Symposium, viewed 15 October 2020, < https://youtu.be/uLvFavurQB>.
Bruguera, T 2017, Art + activism = artivism,
online video, TED Archive, viewed 13 October 2020, < https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C38sPtBj4uo >.
The Reith lectures: Grayson Perry - playing to the gallery: democracy has bad taste 2013,
radio program, BBC Radio 4, 15 October, accessed 19 May 2025, <https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03969vt>.
SFMOMA 2018, Hans Haacke: fighting the establishment,
online video, viewed 14 May 2025, <https://www.sfmoma.org/watch/hans-haacke-fighting-the-establishment/>.
Green, T 2020, No. 448: Dread Scott,
audio podcast, The Modern Art Notes Podcast, 4 June, accessed 19 May 2025, <https://manpodcast.com/portfolio/no-448-dread-scott/>.
Shengtian, Z 2013, From cultural revolution to avant-garde: the rise of Chinese contemporary art,
online video, Canadian Art Foundation, viewed 4 November 2020, < https://vimeo.com/65919076 >.

Aidin, R n.d.,The YBAs, the London-based young British artists,
Khan Academy, viewed 19 May 2025, <https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/global-culture/concepts-in-art-1980-to-now/beginners-guide-1980/a/the-ybas-the-london-based-young-british-artists>.
Brown, M 2019, 'Turner prize awarded four ways after artists' plea to judges',
The Guardian, 4 December, viewed 19 May 2025, <https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2019/dec/03/turner-prize-2019-lawrence-abu-hamdan-helen-cammock-oscar-murillo-and-tai-shani-shared>.
Madzoski, V 2015, The magicians of globalization: magiciens de la terre 25 years later,
Academia, viewed 10 March 2025, <https://www.academia.edu/19093575/The_Magicians_of_Globalization_Magiciens_de_la_Terre_25_years_later>.
Martha Rosler (b. 1943) n.d.,
UbuWeb: film & video, viewed 9 November 2020, < http://www.ubu.com/film/rosler.html >.
Olding, R 2019, 'Encounter with a Guerrilla Girl, a masked crusader in the art world',
The Sydney Morning Herald, 6 September, viewed 15 May 2025, <https://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/art-and-design/encounter-with-a-guerrilla-girl-a-masked-crusader-in-the-art-world-20190829-p52lt1.html>.
SUPERFLEX 2011,
ZKM | Museum of Contemporary Art, viewed 19 May 2025, <http://www.global-contemporary.de/en/artists/9-superflex>.
Wynne prize,
Art Gallery of New South Wales, viewed 9 November 2020, < https://www.artgallery.nsw.gov.au/prizes/wynne/ >.

Bachelor of Creative Practice: CPTHC302A Contemporary Theory

Prescribed Weekly Readings

Recommended Reading and Viewing