TAFEcat Support: Advanced Database Searching

Note: The following search tips only apply to a search for eJournals and databases in the TAFEcat Search catalogue bar.

You can use wildcard and truncation symbols when searching the “eJournals and databases” Search Target.

• The asterisk (*) matches multiple characters. For example, type comput* to find the words computer, computers, computing, computation.
• The asterisk (*) can also be used within words, to find multiple characters. For example, a search for hea*one will match words beginning with “hea” and ending with “one.” For example, headphone, headstone, hearthstone.
• The hash sign (#) matches one optional character. For example, type colo#r to find all records containing color or colour.
• The question mark (?) matches exactly one character. For example, type ne?t to find all records containing neat, nest or next. Note: Question marks at the end of words or character strings are not treated as wildcards. They are automatically removed from a query. 

It is also possible to use field codes to retrieve content from most EBSCO databases.

• EBSCO uses two-character abbreviations for field codes such as SU = Subject, AU = Author, or TI= Article_Title. JN = Journal Title. For example: a search for JN Choice can only return records whose source is the journal "Choice" 
• If searching multiple terms using the same Field Code, you can use parentheses to simplify your search. For example: Instead of the author search AU Smith AND AU Peters NOT AU Lee, use parentheses to enter the search as AU (Smith AND Peters NOT Lee). 

We are all learning about the new TAFEcat together!

For further help you can contact the online Ask a Librarian service or your local TAFE NSW library.

Once your results are displayed on the database results tab:

You can further narrow or expand your results by using the options (facets) on the right of the displayed database results page.

The facets available will adjust to the content retrieved by the search.

You can search for resources via the TAFEcat or through individual databases. Searching via the databases may give you more specific search command options.