Home: Animal Care: eResources

About eResources

eResources include eBooks, online videos and newspaper, magazine and journal articles from databases which you can read online. To access use your TAFE NSW username and password.

Search eResources

For additional information and study support check out these links:

Suggested eResources

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across the 18 EBSCO databases available to TAFE NSW via EBSCOhost at one time. Provides access to journal articles, trade publications, newspapers and other resources covering a wide range of subject areas.
The following databases are included: Academic Search Complete, Australia New Zealand Reference Centre (ANZRC) Plus, Art & Architecture Complete, Business Source Complete, CINAHL Complete, Communication and Mass Media Complete, Computers & Applied Sciences Complete, eBook Collection, Education Research Complete, Environment Complete, Hospitality & Tourism Complete, Social Work Reference Center, SocIndex with Full Text, Sustainability Reference Center, Vocational Studies Complete. Please note: the Nursing Reference Center Plus cannot be cross-searched with the other EBSCOhost databases.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A variety of resources for education, lifelong learning, and academic research ; peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts.
IVS Cloud This link opens in a new window
IVS Cloud by MIMS provides detailed product and prescribing information for veterinary practitioners, on veterinary medicines and products available throughout Australia.

EBSCO eBooks

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to over 9,500 eBooks in a wide range of subject areas. eBooks can be downloaded for up to 7 days or read online. Please note that some books will not allow full download due to publisher restrictions but may allow chapter downloads instead.

Animal care

Standards Online

Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes current Australian and New Zealand standards, draft standards and amendments. Australian Standards are protected by copyright law and a licence agreement. It is possible to set up alerts to keep track of updates to standards.

Enter the standard number or keywords in the TechStreet search box for required standards

AS/NZS 3816:1998 - Management of clinical and related wastes

AS/NZS 4197:2014 - Reprocessing of reusable devices in health service organisations

AS/NZS 4815:2006 - Office-based health care facilities - reprocessing of reusable medical and surgical instruments and equipment and maintenance of the associated environment

AS/NZS 4261:1994 and Amendment 1:1997 Reusable containers of sharp items used in human and animal medical application

AS ISO 20400:2018 Sustainable procurement - Guidance

Suggested eBooks

ACACIA

Animal Rehabilitation Centre and Care of Injured Animals (ARCACIA)
TAFE NSW simulated organisation environment. If your teacher has indicated that you will be using this simulated workplace for your course, you can access this resource using your TAFE NSW username and password. Animal Rehabilitation Centre and Care of Injured Animals

Zoo Aquarium Association (ZAA)

Zoo Aquarium Association (ZAA)
Represents the collective voice of the zoos, aquariums, sanctuaries and wildlife parks across Australasia that operate to the highest standards.

Selected animal studies courses only. Please contact your teacher for access to ZAA services.

atDove - Animal Studies Related Courses Only

atDove
This resource gives access to videos, resources and quizzes relating to real veterinary cases. Video content includes treatment skills, surgical procedures, laboratory practices and anaesthesia procedures.
Please contact your teacher to ensure you have been provided with a username and password to access. Choose to ‘scrub in’ via the email login option.

PressReader

PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of popular newspapers and magazines in their original format. Start reading 7000+ publications from 120+ countries in 60+ languages. Read publications cover to cover, just the way the title was printed with no compromises in quality or content.

Animal scene - eMagazine
Australian geographic - eMagazine
BBC wildlife - eMagazine
Chickens - eMagazine
Dogs & pets (Australia) - eMagazine
Modern cat - eMagazine
Modern dog - eMagazine
Your horse - eMagazine

Log in to PressReader and search for the titles above. You can download them to the PressReader app on your device/s and they will stay there until you delete them.

Suggested eVideos

ClickView This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 3,000 educational videos on a wide range of topics, including health and business, plus instructional content for trades, hospitality and tourism, and more. Many of the videos include resources to support learning.

Animal care playlist (2019) - 10 eVideos

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
An online video library with access to thousands of educational films, documentaries, and news programs with a comprehensive topic profile.
Producers include A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, PBS NewsHour, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 10,000+ high quality online courses teaching creative, business and technology skills. The courses are available at all levels from beginners to advanced. The platform provides personalised course recommendations and is aimed at self-directed learning.