Home: xHigher Education sand pit: References Harvard

Harvard Assets Book chapter essay or article in an edited book or anthology

Book chapter

Abbott, S 2010, ‘High concept thrills and chills: the horror blockbuster’,
in I Conrich (ed.), Horror zone: the cultural experience of contemporary horror cinema, I.B. Tauris, London, pp. 27–44.
more...less...
Book available in the library collection.

eBook chapter

Abbott, S 2010, ‘High concept thrills and chills: the horror blockbuster’,
in I Conrich (ed.), Horror zone: the cultural experience of contemporary horror cinema, 2nd edn, eBook, pp. 27–44, viewed 27 June 2021, EBSCO eBooks.
Kim, Y, Lee, W, Raghunathan, V & Jha, NK 2015, 'Reliability and security of implantable and wearable medical devices',
in S Bhunia, SJA Majervs & M Sawan (eds), Implantable biomedical microsystems: design principles and applications, eBook, pp. 167-199, doi:10.1016/B978-0-323-26208-8.00008-X

Harvard Assets Book Or eBook With Readings Instructions By Academics

For editors wanting to put a full refence for a book in a Readings box please follow instructions listed here in this guide.
The examples below are for references where the academic has provided instructions to students on chapters or pages to read (they are not a normal part of the reference).

A. Readings available from hardcopy library book:

Meggs, PB 2016, Meggs’ history of graphic design,
6th edn, John Wiley & Sons, Hoboken, New Jersey. (Chapters 1-2)
more...less...
Book available in the library collection.
Meggs, PB 2016, Meggs’ history of graphic design,
6th edn, John Wiley & Sons, Hoboken, New Jersey. (Chapters 5, 6 & 9)
more...less...
Book available in the library collection.

Example of book with no author

Electrical fundamentals: module 3 (B1/B2). Aviation maintenance technician certification series 2019,
4th edn, Aircraft Technical Book Company, Tabernash, Colorado. (Pages 22-31)

B. Readings available from eBook:

Examples: Permalink direct to chapter or starting page range

Pouliot, A & May, T 2021, Wild mushrooming: a guide for foragers,
eBook, viewed 11 August 2021, EBSCO eBooks. (Chapter 5)
Pouliot, A & May, T 2021, Wild mushrooming: a guide for foragers,
eBook, viewed 11 August 2021, EBSCO eBooks. (Chapter 5 Features of fungi)
Pouliot, A & May, T 2021, Wild mushrooming: a guide for foragers,
eBook, viewed 11 August 2021, EBSCO eBooks. (Features of fungi, pages 29-43)
Pouliot, A & May, T 2021, Wild mushrooming: a guide for foragers,
eBook, viewed 11 August 2021, EBSCO eBooks. (Pages 29-43)

Examples: Permalink direct to whole eBook

C. Readings available from Book and eBook:

** If eBook and hardcopy book are available on the library catalogue – use only the direct eBook permalink and do an eBook Harvard reference in the Readings section of the LibGuide. Follow instructions for B. Readings available from eBook (above).

Additional action - in the Prescribed & Recommended Texts box/es follow the Standards and Guidelines: eBooks and Books and link to TAFEcat search with both eBook and Book records.

D. Readings available from eBook with a DOI

In TAFE NSW Harvard referencing a DOI trumps a URL or database name. However, the link used to the link the title can be a deep link or URL.

This example below - linking using TAFE NSW eBook permalink direct to chapter:

Goodship, V 2020, Injection moulding: a practical guide,
3rd edn, eBook, doi:10.1515/9783110654813-202 (Chapter 2 Introduction to plastics)

This example below - Web eBook linked using DOI URL: (https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-15-1628-3)

Sanger, CS 2020, Diversity and inclusion in global higher education: lessons from across Asia,
eBook, doi:10.1007/978-981-15-1628-3 (Inclusive pedagogy and universal design approaches for diverse learning environments, pp. 31-71)

This example below shows linking with Web URL direct to chapter: (https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-981-15-1628-3_2)

Sanger, CS 2020, Diversity and inclusion in global higher education: lessons from across Asia,
eBook, doi:10.1007/978-981-15-1628-3 (Inclusive pedagogy and universal design approaches for diverse learning environments, pp. 31-71)

More examples of course reading instructions added to end of asset.

Sanger, CS 2020, Diversity and inclusion in global higher education: lessons from across Asia,
eBook, doi:10.1007/978-981-15-1628-3 (pp. 31-71)
Sanger, CS 2020, Diversity and inclusion in global higher education: lessons from across Asia,
eBook, doi:10.1007/978-981-15-1628-3 (Chapter 1)

E. Readings available from eBook freely available on the Internet

Reynolds, RL 2011, Basic microeconomics,
eBook, viewed 11 August 2021, <https://www.free-ebooks.net/business-textbooks/Basic-Microeconomics>. (Chapter 2 The problem of provisioning)
Reynolds, RL 2011, Basic microeconomics,
eBook, viewed 11 August 2021, <https://www.free-ebooks.net/business-textbooks/Basic-Microeconomics>. (Chapter 2)
Reynolds, RL 2011, Basic microeconomics,
eBook, viewed 11 August 2021, <https://www.free-ebooks.net/business-textbooks/Basic-Microeconomics>. (The problem of provisioning, pp. 25-40)
Reynolds, RL 2011, Basic microeconomics,
eBook, viewed 11 August 2021, <https://www.free-ebooks.net/business-textbooks/Basic-Microeconomics>. (pp. 25-40)

Harvard Assets Video / eVideo / YouTube / Podcasts

A. DVD

Ice wars 2017,
DVD, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Sydney.
more...less...
DVD available in the library collection.

B. eVideo

Planning your painting 2018,
online video, viewed 18 August 2021, Films on Demand.

C. Online Video eg. YouTube:

National Geographic Australia 2010, Great migrations,
online video, viewed 18 August 2021, <https://youtu.be/VO3XgqsPqzs>.

D. Podcasts

Audio podcast:

Duncan, M 2011, The history of Rome,
audio podcast, accessed 18 August 2021, <https://thehistoryofrome.typepad.com/the_history_of_rome/2011/03/129-abdication.html>.

Video podcast:

Small town salvation 2009,
video podcast, Compass Television Program, ABC TV, Sydney, 1
November, accessed 18 August 2021, <https://www.abc.net.au/religion/watch/compass/small-town-salvation/10140874>.

Scanned Docs / Learning Bank / eReserve

Meggs, PB 2016, Meggs’ history of graphic design,
6th edn, John Wiley & Sons, Hoboken, New Jersey. (Chapter 1 Introduction to graphic design).

Harvard Assets - Electronic - journal articles / web pages / documents from Library Databases and Websites

A. Database article without a DOI:

Russell, D 2004, 'Aboriginal-Makassan interactions in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries in northern Australia and contemporary sea rights claims',
Australian Aboriginal Studies, vol. 2004, no. 1, viewed 1 March 2021, Gale Databases.

B. Database article with DOI:

Abidin, C 2021, ‘Mapping Internet celebrity on TikTok: exploring attention economies and visibility labours’,
Cultural Science Journal, vol. 12, no. 1, doi:10.5334/csci.140

C. Article, web page, documents, PDF from a website

Australian Bureau of Statistics 2019, Disability, ageing and carers, Australia: summary of findings 2018,
viewed 15 August 2021, <https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/health/disability/disability-ageing-and-carers-australia-summary-findings/latest-release>.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare 2019, Poor diet,
cat. no. PHE 249, AIHW, Canberra, viewed 15 August 2021, <https://www.aihw.gov.au/reports/food-nutrition/poor-diet/contents/poor-diet-in-children>.
Farago, J 2015, 'To return or not: who should own indigenous art?',
BBC Culture, weblog post, 21 April, viewed 26 October 2020, <https://www.bbc.com/culture/article/20150421-who-should-own-indigenous-art>.
Gallo, C 2020, What it takes to give a great presentation,
Harvard Business Review, viewed 16 November 2020, <https://hbr.org/2020/01/what-it-takes-to-give-a-great-presentation%20%3E>.
Juniper Networks 2018, Understanding access point bias for controllers,
viewed 22 July 2021, <https://www.juniper.net/documentation/en_US/junos-space-apps/network-director4.0/topics/concept/wireless-bias.html>.
Maindonald, JH 2008, Using R for data analysis and graphics: introduction, code and commentary,
Centre for Mathematics and Its Applications, Australian National University, viewed 07 September 2021, <https://cran.r-project.org/doc/contrib/usingR.pdf>.
Paynter, J 2020, 'Severe storms, heavy rainfall bring 'thunderstorm asthma' risk for Victoria',
The Courier Mail, 10 November, viewed 15 August 2021, <https://www.couriermail.com.au/>.

Example of a webpage without an author

Prepare an effective oral presentation 2019,
Davenport University, viewed 16 November 2020, <https://davenport.libguides.com/papers>.

Multiple chapters from an eBook or book

Preference if have both formats (eBook and book) available - for Readings box just create an eBook asset

A. Whole book permalink example with chapters listed underneath in description in brackets

Rath, PM, Petrizzi, R & Gill, P 2012, Marketing fashion: a global perspective,
eBook, doi:10.5040/9781501303869
Communicating fashion's value through promotion, pages 375-450
The fashion marketing environment, pages 36-40
The macro environment, pages 43-56

B. Whole book link + Then page or chapter links listed underneath no brackets.

Page/ Chapter links - In description field that is hidden - have details for book that chapter/pages from

Note: chapter/page links below do not work - not sure if possible in Bloomsbury Dagmar??

Pages 36-40 I can't link to because the sub-chapter is not linked. It's linked to the main chapter.

Only use Book option if eBook not available

C. Book with multiple chapters for student to read

Rath, PM, Petrizzi, R & Gill, P 2012, Marketing fashion: a global perspective,
Fairchild Books, New York.
Communicating fashion’s value through promotion, pages 375-450
The fashion marketing environment, pages 36-40
The macro environment, pages 43-56
more...less...
Book available in the library collection.

Single Books with Multiple Chapters Used Per Week in Readings

This can be used for more books if they are used regularly each week for the subject. (Note I need to write instructions up for creating Chapter asset - Lisa)

1. Add ebook asset with permalink to whole book.

2. Then add Rich Text heading for Week 1 bold

3. Add Links to Chapters - link directly to chapter in eBook

4. Continue on adding Rich Text headings for Week 2 and then Links to eBook chapters

Han, J, Pei, J & Kamber, M 2011, Data mining: concepts and techniques,
3rd edn, eBook, viewed 16 August 2021, EBSCO eBooks.

Week 1

Week 2

Week 3

Chapter 1 Introduction