Skip to Main Content

Contact Libraries Portal Login

Bachelor of Information Technology (Cyber and Network Security): ITDAT303A Data and Network Security

This guide supports the Diploma of Information Technology, Bachelor of Information Technology (Cyber and Network Security) and Bachelor of Information Technology (Data Engineering).

Prescribed

Recommended

Recommended eJournals

Readings

Collins, M 2017, Network security through data analysis: from data to action,
2nd edn, eBook, viewed 6 August 2021, O'Reilly eBooks and videos.
Chapter 1 Organizing data: vantage, domain, action, and validity
Chapter 2 Vantage: understanding sensor placement in networks
Chapter 3 Sensors in the network domain

Collins, M 2017, Network security through data analysis: from data to action,
2nd edn, eBook, viewed 6 August 2021, O'Reilly eBooks and videos.
Chapter 3 Sensors in the network domain
Chapter 4 Data in the service domain
Chapter 5 Sensors in the service domain

Collins, M 2017, Network security through data analysis: from data to action,
2nd edn, eBook, viewed 6 August 2021, O'Reilly eBooks and videos.
Chapter 5 Sensors in the service domain
Chapter 6 Data and sensors in the host domain
Chapter 7 Data and sensors in the active domain

Collins, M 2017, Network security through data analysis: from data to action,
2nd edn, eBook, viewed 6 August 2021, O'Reilly eBooks and videos.
Chapter 8 Getting data in one place
Chapter 9 The SiLK suite

Collins, M 2017, Network security through data analysis: from data to action,
2nd edn, eBook, viewed 6 August 2021, O'Reilly eBooks and videos.
Chapter 10 Reference and lookup: tools for figuring out who someone is
Chapter 11 Exploratory data analysis and visualization

Collins, M 2017, Network security through data analysis: from data to action,
2nd edn, eBook, viewed 6 August 2021, O'Reilly eBooks and videos.
Chapter 12 On analyzing text
Chapter 13 On fumbling

Collins, M 2017, Network security through data analysis: from data to action,
2nd edn, eBook, viewed 6 August 2021, O'Reilly eBooks and videos.
Chapter 14 On volume and time
Chapter 15 On graphs

Collins, M 2017, Network security through data analysis: from data to action,
2nd edn, eBook, viewed 6 August 2021, O'Reilly eBooks and videos.
Chapter 16 On insider threat
Chapter 17 On threat intelligence
Chapter 18 Application identification

Collins, M 2017, Network security through data analysis: from data to action,
2nd edn, eBook, viewed 6 August 2021, O'Reilly eBooks and videos.
Chapter 19 On network mapping
Chapter 20 On working with Ops

Bose, S & Kumar, A 2016, Cryptography and network security,
eBook, viewed 06 August 2021, O'Reilly eBooks and videos.
Chapter 12 Authentication applications
Chapter 14 Transport layer security
Chapter 15 IP security

Liu, D 2009, Next generation SSH2 implementation: securing data in motion,
eBook, viewed 6 August 2021, O'Reilly eBooks and videos.
Chapter 1 Introduction
Chapter 3 An introduction to cryptography
Chapter 4 SSH features
Chapter 6 SSH client basics solutions

Past weeks 1 to 11

Recommended Web Resources

Standards Online

Standards Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes current Australian and New Zealand standards, draft standards and amendments. Australian Standards are protected by copyright law and a licence agreement. It is possible to set up alerts to keep track of updates to standards.

AS/NZS ISO/IEC 27001:2023 Information security, cybersecurity and privacy protection - Information security management systems - Requirements

Suggested eBook Collections

O'Reilly eBooks and videos This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly covers subject areas such as IT networking, project management and business. The content is from a variety of publishers including Pearson, Sam’s, Adobe and Cisco. It contains eBooks, eVideos, audio books and online training.
Springer eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eBook collection that includes textbooks, conference proceedings and handbooks on the subject areas of computer science, professional and applied computing. Springer open access content from all disciplines is also included.

LinkedIn Learning eVideos

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 10,000+ high quality online courses teaching creative, business and technology skills. The courses are available at all levels from beginners to advanced. The platform provides personalised course recommendations and is aimed at self-directed learning.